MHS boys rake in AVCTL D-III honors

By Steve Sell
March 16, 2014
Kendall Shaw

In Ark Valley Chisholm Trail League Division III basketball this year, it was McPherson High’s boys and then everybody else.

The Bullpups won the league by four games, which is staggering considering only 10 are played.

The result was MHS earning a passel of postseason honors, led by D-III MVP Kyler Kinnamon and Coach of the Year in Kurt Kinnamon.

Peter Horton joined Kyler Kinnamon on the first team. Others chosen were Travis House of El Dorado, Will Adler of Winfield, Collin Dempsey of Mulvane and Jace Williams of Buhler.

MHS’ Ryan Horton headlined the second team. He was joined by Logan Mays of Winfield, Gabe Nickel of Rose Hill, Shawn Davis of Buhler, Guner Lampe of Mulvane and Jared Haury of El Dorado.

Drew Pyle and Nathan Nutter earned honorable mention. Others chosen were Jacob Dennett of Winfield, Quentin Henricks and Noah Webster of Buhler, Alec Hildreth of El Dorado, Alec Santo of Rose Hill and Jace Price of Mulvane.


McPherson, 10-0

Winfield, 6-4

El Dorado, 5-5

Buhler, 5-5

Mulvane, 3-7

Rose Hill, 1-9