Kinnamon named All-State, All-Class 1st team by The Eagle

By Steve Sell
March 22, 2014
Kendall Shaw

Kyler Kinnamon’s spot on the McPherson High Wall of Fame is now secure.

According to The Wichita Eagle’s website today, Kinnamon was named All-State All-Class first team, which earns him an automatic spot on the prestigious Bullpup wall.

Kinnamon averaged 15.5 points, 5.9 assists, 3.3 steals, 3.0 rebounds and shot 50 percent from the field, including 45.8 percent from 3-point range. For his career, he has 844 points, 339 assists and 236 steals.

He was joined on the elite team by Blue Valley Northwest’s Clayton Custer, St. John’s Dean Wade, Goddard Eisenhower’s Trevon Evans and Lansing’s Joe Schneider. Kinnamon and Wade (who is coached by Clint Kinnamon) were the only juniors.

Kinnamon also led the Class 4A Division I first team and was joined by Paola’s Mason McDow, Hayden’s Marcus Meier, Basehor’s Chase Younger and Andover Central’s Darraja Parnell. Younger was the only senior.

McPherson’s Horton twins, Ryan and Peter, were named 4A Division I honorable mention.

For the MHS girls, Abby Pedersen was named to the Class 4A Division I second team. MHS’ Janae Barnes and Hannah Willems were honorable mention selections.

Meanwhile among the area teams, Hesston had a nice haul after sweeping both championships in Class 3A. 

For the Swather girls, Matt Richardson was named Kansas’ Coach of the Year, while Caylee Richardson made the first team. Cami Richardson was a second-team pick and Kelsey Unruh was honorable mention.

For the undefeated Hesston boys, they landed two of the five first-team picks as Wyatt McKinney and Grant Raleigh were chosen. Ryan Schadler and Tyler McCartney, who complete the Swathers’ “Big Four,” were picked honorable mention.

Moundridge’s MacKenzie Suderman was second-team Class 2A, while Brooke Holloway was honorable mention, along with Little River’s Skylar Johnston and Canton-Galva’s Cassidy Enns.

For the Moundridge boys, Colton Frazer and Garrett Higgins were Class 2A honorable mention. They were joined by Inman’s Justin Friesen and Little River’s Tevin Renken. 

Smoky Valley’s Hannah McBride was honorable mention Class 4A Division II and Elyria Christian School’s Anna Adamyk was honorable mention Class 1A Division II.