It's a double! Kinnamon makes Top 5 by Topeka as well

By Steve Sell
March 22, 2014
Kendall Shaw

McPherson High’s Kyler Kinnamon followed up his earlier selection today to The Wichita Eagle’s Top 5 by earning the same honor late today by The Topeka Capital-Journal.

Kinnamon was joined by Eagle Top 5 picks Dean Wade of St. John, Clayton Custer of Blue Valley Northwest and Joe Schneider of Lansing. The only difference was Topeka went with Highland Park’s Jahmal McMurray instead of Goddard Eisenhower’s Trevon Evans.

Kinnamon also was first-team 4A (Topeka put both divisions together) and he was joined by Mitch Ballock of Eudora, Cooper Holmes of Concordia, Marcus Meier of Hayden and Trey O’Neil of Scott City. Ballock, Holmes and O’Neil played in Division II.

Here are the other honors by school. Every area school was represented by at least one player:

• McPherson •

Abby Pedersen, 4A 3rd team

Hannah Willems, 4A honorable mention

Ryan Horton, 4A honorable mention

Peter Horton 4A honorable mention

• Hesston •

Grant Raleigh, 3A 1st team

Wyatt McKinney, 3A 1st team

Caylee Richardson, 3A 1st team

Cami Richardson, 3A 2nd team

Ryan Schadler, 3A honorable mention

Tyler McCartney, 3A honorable mention

Kelsey Unruh, 3A honorable mention

• Moundridge •

MacKenzie Suderman, 2A 2nd team

Brooke Holloway, 2A honorable mention

Colton Frazer, 2A honorable mention

Garrett Higgins, 2A honorable mention

• Little River •

Tevin Renken, 2A 3rd team

Skylar Johnston, 2A honorable mention

• Inman •

Tyler Cottam, 2A honorable mention

Barkley Williams, 2A honorable mention

Justin Friesen, 2A honorable mention

• Canton-Galva •

Cassidy Enns, 2A honorable mention

• Smoky Valley •

Hannah McBride, 4A honorable mention

• Elyria Christian School •

Anna Adamyk, 1A honorable mention