Kinnamon, Raleigh garner honors

By Steve Sell
March 25, 2014
Kendall Shaw

The postseason basketball honors continue to pour in.

McPherson High’s Kyler Kinnamon and Hesston’s Grant Raleigh were the recipients of the latest round of honors.

2014 Sports In Kansas (Kansas-Sports.Com) selected Kinnamon as its Class 4A Division I Player of the Year, while Raleigh received the same honor in Class 3A. Both led their respective teams to state championships.

Kinnamon averaged 15.5 points, 5.9 assists, 3.3 steals, 3.0 rebounds and shot 50 percent from the field, including 45.8 percent from 3-point range. For his career, he has 844 points, 339 assists and 236 steals.

Raleigh averaged 15 points for the Swathers.

Blue Valley Northwest’s Clayton Custer was the 6A selection as well as the Kansas Player of the Year.

Others picked were Joe Schneider of Lansing (5A), Trey O’Neil of Scott City (4A Division II), Dean Wade of St. John (2A), Kade Spresser of Hoxie (1A) and Trey Dubbert of St. Johns-Tipton (1A Division II).

McPherson’s Kurt Kinnamon and Hesston’s Greg Raleigh were named Coach of the Year in Classes 4A Division I and 3A, respectively. Lansing’s Rod Briggs, who led his team to the 5A state title, was the Kansas Coach of the Year. Others chosen were Blue Valley Northwest’s Ed Fritz in 6A, Kyle Deterding of Eudora in 4A Division II, Clint Kinnamon of St. John in 2A, Tim Latham of Marais Des Cygnes Valley in 1A Division II and Lance Bergmann of St. Johns-Tipton in 1A Division II