Regional track and field assignments announced

By Steve Sell
April 15, 2014

Regional track and field assignments have been determined by the Kansas State High School Activities Association.

McPherson High and Smoky Valley will be among the teams in the Abilene Class 4A regional on May 23. Also on hand are Buhler, Chapman, Clay Center, Colby, Concordia, Goodland, Holton, Royal Valley, Larned, Nickerson, Russell, Scott City and Wamego.

In Class 3A, Hesston will be going to Phillipsburg. Other teams are Beloit, Ellsworth, Southeast of Saline, Halstead, Thomas More Prep, Hoisington, Hutchinson Trinity, Lyons, Marion, Marysville, Minneapolis, Norton, Riley County and Sacred Heart.

Hillsboro will be a 2A host that includes area teams Canton-Galva and Moundridge. Other schools are Northern Heights, Chase County, Berean Academy, West Elk, Lyndon, Olpe, Oswego, Peabody, Pittsburg Colgan, Pleasanton, Uniontown, Remington and Yates Center.

Inman will be going to the 2A event at Kiowa. Other teams are South Central, Elkhart, Stanton County, Kinsley, Meade, Medicine Lodge, South Gray, Oxford, Pratt Skyline, St. John, Sterling, Sublette and Syracuse.

Little River will journey to Smith Center. Remaining teams include Rawlins County, Bennington, Ell-Saline, Central Plains, Ellinwood, Ellis, Hill City, Wichita County, Ness City, Oakley, Decatur Community, Plainville, Smith Center and Trego.

Elyria Christian goes to Burlington for a 1A gathering. Other teams are Altoona-Midway, Central-Burden, Cedar Vale, Chetopa, Crest, Dexter, Goessel, Hamilton, Hartford, Hope, Lebo, Southern Coffey, Elk Valley, Centre, Madison, Marais des Cygnes, Flint Hills, South Haven, St. Paul, Udall and Waverly.