Police personnel changes announced at City Commission

By Nick Gosnell
April 21, 2014

McPherson Police Chief Robert McClarty had several personnel issues to deal with at the McPherson City Commission on Monday.

McClarty announced the promotion of Officer Chase Wylie to Patrol Sergeant, effective immediately and the hiring of three Patrol Officers as well. All three officers have ties to McPherson County. Joseph Jarvis is a 2006 McPherson High graduate, while Jared Kaufman is a Moundridge native and 2010 Wildcat graduate and Matt Van Der Hoeven is a 2010 McPherson High Graduate and currently resides in McPherson. Both Jarvis and Van Der Hoeven were in the United States Marine Corps before being discharged after four years of service, Jarvis in 2012 and Van Der Hoeven in 2014. Both attained the rank of Sergeant before their discharge. The new officers will begin at the department May 12th, and are scheduled to begin training at the KLETC basic training academy on June 2nd.