Swede golfers dominate KCAC honors

By Bethany College Sports Information
May 06, 2014
Bethany College Sports Information

LINDSBORG — The KCAC men’s golf awards looked more like the Bethany College awards.

Bethany’s Jon Daniels was named Coach of the Year, and six Bethany golfers earned All-KCAC honors: Ben Johnson, James Tisdale, Jose Acevedo, Greg Miller, Jose Luis Lelo de Larrea  and Matt O'Neill.

The Swedes were the 2014 KCAC regular-season and conference tournament champions.

All-KCAC honors are given to the individuals finishing in the Top 10 following four conference events in the season.

Johnson finished with 161.5 points, followed by Tisdale with 148.5, Acevedo 140.5, Miller 134.5, Lelo De Larrea 133.5 and O'Neill 127.5.

Bethany won the KCAC Championships, its second conference championship in three years. Tisdale placed second with a score of 225. Miller finished fourth at 228, Johnson tied for fifth at 233, Lelo de Larrea tied for seventh at 235, Acevedo tied for tenth at 236 and O'Neill tied for 12th at 237.

There were four conference golf tournaments during the season: Sterling College Tournament Oct. 7-8, Swede Invite March 27-28, Bethel Invite March 29-30 and the Southwestern Tournament April 14-15.

At the Sterling College fall tournament, Johnson won the event with an overall score of 137, followed by Lelo de Larrea in fourth at 142, Tisdale in eighth at 144, Acevedo and O'Neill in ninth at 145, and Miller in 21st at 150. Bethany placed first out of 12 at the tournament.

At the Swede Invite March 27-28, where Bethany again won the tournament, Johnson tied for first at 143. O'Neill tied for fourth at 144, and Acevedo and Lelo de Larrea tied for eighth at 146. Miller finished eleventh at 148, followed by Tisdale in 13th at 150.

Bethany was again victorious in the Bethel Invite March 29-30. Johnson won the tournament with a score of 142, followed by Tisdale in second at 149, Miller in fifth at 153, Acevedo tied for sixth at 155, Lelo de Larrea tied for 15th at 159 and O'Neill tied for 33rd.

At the Southwestern Tournament April 14-15, the Swedes were crowned champions. Acevedo won the tournament with a score of 153, followed by O'Neill in second at 154, Johnson in fourth at 156, Tisdale tied for eighth at 160, Miller tied for tenth at 161 and Lelo de Larrea tied for 23rd at 166.

The Swedes will compete at the NAIA National Tournament in Daytona Beach, Fla. May 13-16.