Cordell to be inducted into KBCA Hall of Fame

By Steve Sell
May 28, 2014

What has been known to many in the area for a long time will become fact next month.

Little River’s Shane Cordell is a basketball Hall of Famer.

Cordell, who retired as Little River girls basketball coach after this season with 604 wins and four state championships in 34 years, will be among the inductees into the Kansas Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame on June 28 in Salina.

Another highlight for Cordell will be that his Little River girls’ teams from 1995 to 1998 will be inducted into the Hall’s team category. During that time, Little River won a state-record 91 games in a row. In addition to coaching basketball, Cordell coached football at Little River for 29 years, winning three state championships.

The Little River '95-98 teams be joined at the ceremony by Vance Unrau’s Moundridge’s boys teams that won state titles for four straight years from 1990 to 1993.

McPherson will have two coaches receive honors. Boys coach Kurt Kinnamon is the KBCA’s 4A Division I Coach of the Year, while McPherson’s Tyler Brown was named Kansas’ Junior High Boys Coach of the Year. McPherson’s Keshawn Sewell will be honored with the KBCA’s first-ever Courage Award. Sewell broke his leg early in the basketball season, but remained an integral part of the team.

The big change this year is the site, as it has been moved from its longtime venue of Topeka to Salina. In fact, McPherson was among the cities considered, but Kansas Wesleyan is going to serve as the headquarters this year. The two KBCA All-Star Games will be played in Wesleyan's Mabee Arena, the girls at 6 p.m. and the boys at 8.

Salina hosted the inaugural event in 1984, but Topeka had been the site until this year.