MHS' Kaufman, Schmidt chosen D-III-IV soccer first team

By Steve Sell
June 02, 2014

McPherson High’s girls soccer team made out quite well when AVCTL Division III-IV selections were announced this weekend.

The Bullpups placed a pair of players on the first team, defender Breckon Kaufman and forward Paige Schmidt.

Midfielder Alayna Wallace made the second team, as did goalie Shaelah White. Defenders Addie Lanning and Sydney Ruder were picked to the honorable mention team, as was forward Zaida Chapman.

Winfield’s Karrie McNutt was selected the Most Valuable Player and the Vikings’ Don Birney was Coach of the Year.

Here is the first team:

Defenders — Breckon Kaufman, McPherson; Caitlyn Dougherty, Winfield; Jess Burtnett, Winfield; Hannah Knaak, Rose Hill.

Midfielders — Lizzy Wright, Buhler; Dominique Milsap, Rose Hill; Karrie McNutt, Winfield; Taylor Spencer, Winfield.

Forwards — Paige Schmidt, McPherson; Rylee Simon, Mulvane; Emily Terrell, Rose Hill; McKenzie Thiel, Winfield.

Goalie — Olivia Bish, Mulvane; Maddie Pegorsch, Winfield.