Hoffman, Marshall make All-Area 1st team

By Steve Sell
June 16, 2014

The Hutchinson News’ All-Area softball team had a definite McPherson flavor to it.

McPherson’s Madison Hoffman was named as a first-team pitcher while teammate Hannah Marshall made the first team as a first baseman. Both players were instrumental in the Bullpups finishing second in the state in their first-ever appearance.

McPherson’s Chelsey Kerr was named to the honorable mention team at shortstop despite batting better than .500.

Inman’s Kristen Knackstedt was picked to the second team as a pitcher. Earning honorable mention were her teammate Krystan Miller (utility player), and the Moundridge duo of Chelsey Knight (utility player) and Elizabeth Ratzlaff (utility).

Haven’s Samantha Stallbaumer, who started her career at Smoky Valley, was named the Area Player of the Year. Stallbaumer broke the state record for stolen bases with 66, broke the state record for runs in a season with 57 and her 56 hits were one shy of tying the state record.

Pratt’s Mike Forshee was tabbed Coach of the Year. Pratt, which was the Class 4A Division II state champion, placed three members on the first team.