MHS' Myers makes All-Area 1st team

By Steve Sell
June 22, 2014

McPherson High’s Griffin Myers was named to The Hutchinson News’ All-Area baseball first team, according to selections announced Sunday.

Myers was picked as a second baseman.

Other area first-team picks were Little River’s Tevin Renken (pitcher) and Moundridge’s Garrett Higgins (utility).

Little River’s Terry Renken, who led the Redskins to a runner-up state finish in Class 2-1A, was named Area Coach of the Year.

Inman’s Jon Landeros (third baseman) and Treyton DeVore (outfield) were picked to the second team, as was Little River’s Zack Konen (outfield).

Honorable mention:

— Inman designated hitter Taylor Almquist

— Little River catcher Kyler Cox

— Moundridge oufielder Kyle Huxman

— Little River third baseman Cordell Moore