Hobson signs Taxpayer Protection Pledge

By Nick Gosnell
July 03, 2014

The 35th District State Senate Campaign of Donald Hobson of McPherson announced this week that Hobson has signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge.

Hobson said, “Our State doesn’t lack revenue; our problem is that we spend too much”.

The pledge, distributed by the Americans for Tax Reform, was first used in the New Hampshire governor’s race in 1972. Since then, the Taxpayer Protection Pledge has been distributed to statewide and state legislative

candidates and incumbents in all fifty states.

Similar Pledges are distributed to U.S. Congressional and presidential candidates.

The Pledge commits an elected official or candidate for public office “to oppose and vote against any efforts to increase taxes.”

According to Americans for Tax Reform, there are no exceptions to the Pledge. Politicians often use “emergencies” to justify increasing taxes. In the unfortunate event of a real crisis or natural disaster, legislators should cut spending in other areas instead of aggravating the situation.

Pledge signers are bound for the duration of their tenure in the office to which they may be elected, with the exception of constitutional officers who are next in line for the governorship. For example, if a Pledge signer

runs for the state house of representatives, wins the election, and two years later decides to run for the state senate, he must sign the Pledge again for it to apply to his tenure in the senate.

However, if a Pledge signing lieutenant governor or other officer succeeds to the governor’s office, the Pledge remains in effect.

Hobson is one of five candidates running in the Republican primary to take over the seat being vacated by Clark Shultz. In addition to Hobson, vying for the seat on the Republican side are Rick Wilborn, Marshall Christmann, Jim Toews and Nick Reinecker.