KCAC honors Mac student-athletes for academics

By McPherson College Sports Information
July 04, 2014

The KCAC has announced its 2013-2014 KCAC Scholar-Athletes for the winter and spring seasons. 

McPherson College placed one baseball, six tennis, seven softball, seven basketball and 13 track and field student-athletes on the lists.

Andrew Pina of the MC baseball team was the lone 'Dog to make the cut, but is joined by Simone Donaldson, Mariah Wedel, Whitney Miller, Cassandra Moreno, Hailey Becket, Kaila Atkinson and Emily Davis of the softball squad.

Three men's and three women's tennis players were tabbed scholar-athletes by the conference in Sean De Young, Jaime Roman, Mark Mahan, Emma Sheehan, Chandler Short and Kara Wright.

For the Bulldog basketballers, Chandler Short, Bailey Brown, Sunny Smart, Cami Engelbert, Erik DeRoo, Brian Johnson and Kaven Denno made the list.

From the KCAC Championship track and field teams were Miranda Clark Ulrich, Savana Cross, Addie Johnson, Cathy Lowry, Megan Pohlmann, Rea Samuels, Sierra Ulrich, Evan Clary, Josh Dunback, Heath Hewitt, Daniel May, Brandon Sherier and William Tebbetts.

Student-athletes must have sophomore standing at the start of the sport season, maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.33 on a 4.0 scale, and letter in their sport.