Fourteen apply for Supreme Court vacancy

By Office of Judicial Administration
July 10, 2014

Fourteen Kansas attorneys and judges including one from Marquette applied by a noon deadline Thursday to fill a vacancy on the Kansas Supreme Court created by the July 28 departure of Justice Nancy Moritz to serve on the 10th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals.

Applicants will be interviewed by the Supreme Court Nominating Commission Aug. 4 and 5 in the Fatzer Courtroom in the Kansas Judicial Center in Topeka. The interview schedule will be posted on the Kansas judicial branch website at later in July.

Interviews will be open to the public and interested parties are encouraged to attend.

After interviewing applicants, the Supreme Court Nominating Commission will submit names of three qualified individuals to the governor. The governor will then choose from that list who to appoint to fill the Supreme Court vacancy.

The Supreme Court Nominating Commission is an independent body created by the Kansas Constitution. Its members are: Anne E. Burke, Chair, Overland Park; David J. Rebein, Dodge City; Linda B. Weis, Manhattan; Natalie G. Haag, Topeka; Felita R. Kahrs, Topeka; Matthew D. Keenan, Leawood; Robert Hayworth, Shawnee Mission; Jay F. Fowler, Wichita; and Gary T. Mason, Maize.

The applicants include:

Karen M. Arnold-Burger Judge Overland Park

Victor J. Braden Lawyer Lawrence

Daniel D. Creitz Judge Erie

Dennis D. Depew Lawyer Neodesha

Linda D. Kirby Lawyer Wichita

David R. Klaassen Lawyer Marquette

Thomas E. Malone Judge Topeka

Anthony W. Mattivi Lawyer Topeka

Steven C. Montgomery Judge Spring Hill

Steven J. Obermeier Lawyer Olathe

Anthony J. Powell Judge Wichita

Curtis O. Roggow Lawyer Shawnee

Caleb Stegall Judge Lawrence

Merlin G. Wheeler Judge Emporia