Bailey, Halinski join bowling Hall of Fame

By Steve Sell
August 12, 2014

The McPherson Men’s Bowling Association Hall of Fame increased by two members Monday night at Starlite Lanes.

Paul Bailey and Herb Halinski were revealed as the newest members during the Men’s Barbecue and Annual Meeting.

Bailey has been bowling for 40 years, with a high game of 279 and high series of 708. He has competed in a number of tournaments, including a national tournament, five state tournaments and 10 Wendy’s tournaments.

He is a former City Tournament champion.

In addition, Bailey has served as a league president, including the Friday Mixed League for three years.

Halinski is one of the most accomplished bowlers in McPherson history. In May, he rolled his 30th 300 game of his career. His high series is a staggering 833 and he has been a staple in the City Tournament, having bowled in 21, and has won championships in every event.

Halinski competes all over the country in tournaments. He bowled collegiately at West Texas State, where he captured several titles. He has been the Starlite individual champion on numerous occasions and always seems to be in the Top 5.

Off the lanes, he has served as league president on numerous occasions and currently is the president of the Wendy’s Classic Scratch League and Summer Mixers.

He says, however, his most rewarding accomplishment is being the first coach of the McPherson High School bowling team. His boys team won the state championship in its very first year in 2008 and the girls just won the state title this past season. He has attained the prestigious USBC Silver Level coaching status, the second-highest possible.

This year, he also was named the Kansas High School Bowling Coach of the Year and is a member of the Board of Directors of the Kansas High School Coaches Association.

Nine other Starlite Hall of Fame members were on hand and they also were recognized during the evening. They included Mike Price, Jim Leach, Harold Wann, Homer Krehbiel Jr, Larry Gates, Jerry Leopold, Donnie Anderson, Gary Grant and Steve Sell.