Plans progressing for Legion's Night of Champions

By Steve Sell
August 13, 2014
Kendall Shaw

Plans are moving full steam ahead for the “Night of Baseball Champions,” scheduled for 6 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 28, at American Legion Post 24.

The 1954, 1975 and 2014 McPherson American Legion state championship teams will be honored.

Post 24 will be providing the meal for players and families. The Post 24 Auxiliary will be serving dessert.

If you know of anybody on the 1954 or 1975 teams who may be unaware of the event, please contact them.

Members of the 1954 state championship team were James Holwerda, Francis Peterson, James Ostlind, Allen Schierling, Rice Brown, James Parker, Gene Elliott, Rich Heidebrecht, Charles Prevo, Harold Seeger, Don Olson, Gordon Lewis, Kenneth Barber, Gary Crosby and Jerry Nelson. Bill Kennedy was the manager.

Olson is the contact person and he has reported Elliott, Nelson and himself already have committed to being on hand.

The 1975 team included Tim Hennig, Eddie Christensen, Marc Ramsdale, Mark Koehn, Brent Heidebrecht, Darin Kirby, Kelly Morris, Joe Rierson, Wayne Morrow, Brett Adcock, Kevin Kaufman, Jeff Kline, Dave Hill, LaDell Thomason, Marty Carlson, Kevin Kerdolff and Kevin Greischar. The team was skippered by Vance Carlson, with Clark Adcock and Dallas Kirby his assistants.

Koehn is attempting to contact as many former teammates as he can.

There will be a video tribute of this year’s team as well as an area for memorabilia to be displayed for those wanting to bring old bats, balls, gloves, uniforms, newspapers articles, etc.