Mac's Huppe picked for KCAC volleyball Top 10

By Steve Sell
August 14, 2014
McPherson College Sports Information

WICHITA — Cortlynne Huppe was McPherson College’s representative on the preseason All-KCAC volleyball team released on Wednesday.

The 6-1 Huppe is an outside-middle hitter from Florence, Colo.

Highlighting the 2014 preseason team are Bailey Burnett (Sr., Friends), Taylor Elkinton (Sr., Kansas Wesleyan) and Giselle De Moura (Sr., Sterling). 

Burnett, a 5-8 defensive specialist, was a unanimous pick to last year’s first team after a season in which she was Co-Libero of the Year, and led the KCAC in digs and digs per set.

Elkinton, a 5-6 setter, was the KCAC’s best at that position last year in a vote of coaches. She was a unanimous pick to the 2013 All-KCAC team and a second-team selection in 2012. She topped the KCAC in assists last year and was second in assists per set.

De Moura, a 5-8 defensive specialist, was a unanimous selection to the 2013 first team and picked with Burnett as Co-Libero of the Year. She also also second in the conference in serving aces. 

Last year’s Freshman of the Year, Tena Loewen (Tabor), as well as unanimous 2013 first-team All-KCAC pick Hayley Ray (Sterling) were other easy picks to the team. Of the 10 athletes listed, seven are from Kansas. Kansas Wesleyan leads the way with three student-athletes on the team.

The complete team includes Cortlynne Huppe of McPherson College, Bailey Burnett and Hayley Young of Friends, Taylor Elkinton, Taylor Klover and Melissa Blair of Kansas Wesleyan, Allie Arnold of Ottawa, Giselle De Moura and Hayley Ray of Sterling and Tena Loewen of Tabor.