Moran announces 2014 Kansas Service Academy Selection Board, includes CCC Professor

By Senator Jerry Moran
September 16, 2014

U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) today announced the members of his 2014 Kansas Service Academy Selection Board. The 20-member board will review applications and interview candidates who are applying for admission to U.S. Service Academies. These include the U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Air Force Academy and U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. Those selected will enter the academies in June 2015.

“Our country is fortunate to have so many intelligent, hard-working and patriotic young men and women interested in serving our country through the Armed Forces,” Sen. Moran said. “I know the Selection Board will have a difficult time narrowing the field of qualified candidates, but I value their insight and thank them for their help in making difficult decisions.”

Sen. Moran accepts applications for nominations to the United States Service Academies each year. This year, more than 60 high school students have applied to be considered for very few nominations. Candidates are then required to interview with Sen. Moran’s Service Academy Selection Board. Following interviews, the Board will make recommendations to Sen. Moran for his decision. If nominated, applicants must then meet the individual admission requirements of each academy. The academies will make the final decision on who will receive an appointment of admission in early 2015.

Members of the 2014 Kansas Service Academy Selection Board include:

Robin Jackson, Ph.D., of Hutchinson – Central Christian College Professor of Science and Mathematics

Maceo Braxton, III of Salina – 8th Grade Boys Team Leader at The City and son of U.S. Military Academy graduate

Karen DeGraaf of Mulvane – U.S. Air Force Academy Graduate

Anne Emerson of Fort Scott – Southeast Kansas, Inc. Board Member

Nicholas Falcetto of Fort Leavenworth – U.S. Army Major and U.S. Military Academy Graduate

Ernest Garcia of Overland Park – Kansas Highway Patrol Superintendent, retired U.S. Marine Corps Colonel and former U.S. Selective Service System Chief of Staff

Steve Harmon of Emporia – E-Town Solutions Owner/President, Emporia City Commissioner and Kansas National Guard Member

Steve Hawley, Ph.D., of Lawrence – University of Kansas Director of Engineering Physics Program and former NASA Astronaut

Ryan Kriegshauser of Topeka – Director of Policy and Special Counsel Kansas Office of the Securities Commissioner and a Lieutenant in the U.S. Naval Reserves

Katrina Lewison of Manhattan – U.S. Military Academy Graduate and Purple Heart Recipient

Ron Lucas of Goodland – Vietnam War Veteran and served in the U.S. Army

Wendell Maddox of Kansas City – United Way of Wyandotte County President and CEO and served in the U.S. Navy and U.S. Marine Corps

Jill McCarthy of Overland Park – Kansas City Area Development Council Vice President of Business Development and mother of U.S. Military Academy Graduate

Lynne Murray, Ph.D., of Baldwin City – President of Baker University and wife of U.S. Air Force Member

Janet Nichols of Manhattan – Manhattan Area Chamber of Commerce Military Community Liaison

Jayne Pearce of Wallace – Marketing and Tourism Director for the Wallace County Visitors Bureau, served in the U.S. Air Force and mother of U.S. Air Force Academy Graduate

Paula Ripple of Dodge City – Retired Dodge City High School English instructor and mother of U.S. Air Force Academy Graduate

Matt Treaster of Newton – U.S. Naval Academy Graduate and an Assistant United States Attorney

Samuel Turner of Leawood – Retired Shawnee Mission Medical Center CEO, Vietnam War Veteran and served in the U.S. Army

Ron Whitney of Emporia – American Legion Member, Veterans of Foreign Wars Member and served in U.S. Army