Hart is D-III Defensive MVP; MHS loads up on honors

By Steve Sell
November 22, 2014
Kendall Shaw

Ark Valley Chisholm Trail League Division III football champion McPherson High took up a whopping 10 spots on the first team, according to selections announced today.

The Bullpups’ Ty Hart was named the league’s Defensive MVP. He also was named to the first team both as a linebacker and running back.

The Bullpups claimed six first-team defensive spots. In addition to Hart, linemen Cody Starkel and Cole Hanken were elite-team picks, as were defensive backs Jason Anderson and Luke Williams. Rounding it out was place-kicker Nathan Nutter.

Other offensive players making first team were receiver Payton Stephens, lineman Michael McKinney and punter Kyler Kinnamon

Kinnamon made second-team quarterback. Also on the second team were tight end Luke Stucky and offensive lineman Corben Davis.

Kinnamon also was honorable mention as a defensive back. Nutter (running back), Levi Vu (defensive line) Collin Baldwin (defensive line), Klayton Goering (linebacker), Casey Cheek (defensive back) and Ross Regier (offensive line) made honorable mention as well.

Buhler’s Jace Williams was named Offensive MVP while Augusta’s Jason Philbrick was tabbed Coach of the Year. In his first year, the Orioles went 5-5 and made the playoffs after winning only six games in the previous five years.

• First Team •

• Defense •

Line — Cody Starkel, McPherson; Jaden Abernathy, Buhler; Blake Watkins, Augusta.

End — Cole Hanken, McPherson; Chase Shantz, Buhler

Linebackers — Ty Hart, McPherson; Jordan Wedel, Buhler; Isaiah Amezcua, Winfield.

Secondary — Jason Anderson, McPherson; Luke Williams, McPherson; Chaydon Carter, Augusta; Dillon Engelland, Buhler.

Kicker — Nathan Nutter, McPherson

• Offense •

Quarterback — Jace Williams, Buhler

Backs — Ty Hart, McPherson; Dillon Engelland, Buhler

Receivers — Payton Stephens, McPherson; Dakota Wolf, Buhler; Connor Hurst, Augusta.

Tight end — Chase Shantz, Buhler.

Line — Michael McKinney, McPherson; Dalton Roberts, Buhler; Dustin Rush, Buhler; Jaden Abernathy, Buhler; Zac Ruff, El Dorado.

Punter — Kyler Kinnamon, McPherson;

Special Teams Player — Chaydon Carter, Augusta

• Final Standings •

1. McPherson, 5-0

2. Buhler, 4-1

3. Augusta, 2-3

3. Rose Hill, 2-3

3. Winfield, 2-3

6. El Dorado, 0-5