MHS wrestlers swamp depleted Andale

By Steve Sell
December 05, 2014
Kendall Shaw

It was a bittersweet night for McPherson High’s wrestling team in its season opener here Thursday.

While MHS coach Doug Kretzer was pleased that the Bullpups more than doubled up Andale, 55-24, he was disappointed the Indians were open at six weights, as none of their football players competed. Andale won the Class 4A Division II state football championship last Saturday and those players who wrestle did not compete as they are taking a week off.

“It’s disappointing to weigh in and then not get a match,” Kretzer said. “All our kids were really looking forward to the opportunity to compete.”

The Bullpups did get some nice efforts. Austin Eldredge at 106 and Andrew Trowbridge at 113 started things off right with impressive wins.

“Where we did have matches, we wrestled well,” Kretzer said. “Eldredge and Trowbridge beat tough kids. They are a good 1-2 punch to start our dual team.”

Bailey Yarborough, in his first varsity match, won by a fall at 152. Ty Goss won by a fall at heavyweight.

“Ty looked really good at heavyweight, totally controlling the match earning a fall to close things out,” Kretzer said.

The Bullpups host their annual JV tournament on Saturday. Next varsity action is a dual Thursday at powerful Smoky Valley in Lindsborg. The Vikings have several key wrestlers back from a team that took third in Class 4A last year.


106 — Austin Eldredge won 10-2 over Weber

113 — Andrew Trowbridge won 2-1 in overtime over Garcia

120 — Brynton Crews lost by a fall to Pavlacka

126 — Gunnar Reiss lost by a fall to Eck

132 — Shaden Swaim won by forfeit

138 — Brice Kasting won by forfeit

145 — Luke Thompson won by forfeit

152 — Bailey Yarborough won by a fall over Ebert

160 — Caleb Giddings lost by a fall to Hein

170 — MHS was open

182 — Kaleb Jost won by forfeit

195 — Ross Regier won by forfeit

220 — Michael McKinney won by forfeit

HWT — Ty Goss won by a fall over May

• JV •

106 — Bailey Boyett won by a fall over M. Engelbrecht

113 —  Kaylee Harden lost by a fall to Nieman

126 — Tyler Scott lost by a fall to Robben

145 — Oscar Westerblom lost by a fall to H. Engelbrecht

145 — Jerome Dishmon lost by a fall to H. Engelbrecht

182 — Kamren Jost won by a fall over Cooley