Roberts announces Academy nominees, including Stephanie Farney of McPherson

By Office of Senator Roberts
December 18, 2014

U.S. Senator Pat Roberts today released the names of the young Kansans who will receive his nomination for appointments to U.S. Service Academies.

“I am very pleased to announce this year’s nominees,” Senator Roberts said. “These men and women are outstanding representatives of Kansas in every way, and I wish them all the best as they pursue their education and service to our nation.”

In making the nominations, Senator Roberts followed the recommendations of his Academy Screening Board. The nonpartisan board is comprised of seven volunteers from across Kansas and is overseen by Gilda Lintz, Senator Roberts’ District Director and Military Academy Coordinator in Topeka. As part of the decision-making process, board members conduct personal interviews with the applicants, as well as review their written applications, G.P.A. and standardized test scores.

Once nominated by Senator Roberts, the applicants then must meet the individual admission requirements of each academy. The academies will make the final decision on who will receive an appointment of admission. Due to the limited number of openings at each academy, not every nominee will receive an appointment. The academies this spring will announce appointments for the class entering in July 2015. Senator Roberts’ nominees are as follows:

United States Air Force Academy Nominees

Nicholas Clark, Manhattan

Kaitlyn Emerson, Topeka

Stephanie Farney, McPherson

Mattie Germann, Leawood

Sofia Gilkeson, Wichita

Abbie Lavin, Lenexa

Zach Marcolesco, Andale

Caleb Mathes, Bartlett

Kelly Nguyen, Wichita

Matthew Scherer, Wamego

United States Naval Academy Nominees

Kynedi Allison, Delphos

Charles Beck, Wichita

Eli Cosner, Overland Park

Frank Dwornicki, Wichita

Kenneth Englert, Shawnee

Kyle Garton, Overland Park

Grace Gomez, Topeka

Chenxi He, Olathe

Michael Healy, Leawood

Elizabeth Jarvis, Wichita

John Kelly, Minneapolis

Austin Koch, Topeka

Elyjah Lyons, Parsons

Michael Marsh, Topeka

Madeleine Pershall, Topeka

Frederick Porter, Neodesha

Chelsey Ratzlaff, Wichita

Charles Schillings, Wichita

Gwyneth Schuler, Wichita

Thomas Williams, Overland Park

United States Military Academy at West Point Nominees

Ryan Brunner, Topeka

John  Flott, Topeka

Anna Frick, Ft Riley

Derek Martin, Conway Springs

Anthony Nilles, Halstead

Joshua Winton, Leavenworth

United States Merchant Marine Academy Nominee

Cameron Hamm, Overland Park

Senator Roberts will begin accepting applications in March for nominations to academy classes entering in July 2016. Applicants wishing to find out more information on the process for nominations should visit Senator Roberts’ website at: