Thunder captures 6th-grade title

By Steve Sell
December 22, 2014

The Central Kansas Thunder youth basketball team, which includes four players with local ties, captured the championship of the sixth-grade division of the recent McPherson MAYB Tournament.

The Thunder outlasted the Hays Tribe 38-36 to win the championship.

McPherson members on the team include Zac Butler, Quincy Gerbrandt and Dylan Forkell. TJ Morrical of Lindsborg also is on the team, which is rounded out by players from Salina.

The Thunder defeated the Mac Heat and Salina Knights on their road to the championship. The team begins league play this weekend, then goes to a tournament in Lindsborg on Jan. 10.