Hart, Raleigh chosen for Shrine Bowl

By Steve Sell
January 08, 2015
Kendall Shaw

McPherson High’s Shrine Bowl streak remains intact.

For the eighth year in a row, the Bullpups have had a player chosen as it was announced today that Ty Hart has been selected for the West team in the annual game on July 25 at Hays.

Hart was the AVCTL Division III Defensive MVP for his play at linebacker and earned All-State honors. He also was an outstanding running back for a Bullpup team that went 7-3 and made the state playoffs for a ninth year in row. He rushed for 731 yards and 12 touchdowns even though he started only half the season on offense.

Tanner Hawkinson started the MHS streak with his selection for the 2008 game (though he didn’t play because he was at KU), followed by Zach Peterson, Joel Piper, Christian Ulsaker, Jordan Hart, Collin French and Garrett Larson.

Hart will be joined on the West team by Hesston’s Grant Raleigh, who was chosen for his play both as a quarterback and defensive back. Raleigh led the Swathers to a 9-0 regular season and the team finished 10-1 after losing in the second round of the 3A playoffs.

He had an amazing year with 1,697 yards rushing and 27 touchdowns while throwing for 2,170 and 29 more scores.


• WEST •

Sloan Baker, Scott City; Layne Bieberle, Central Plains; Braden Burlew, Salina South; Tyler Burns, Trinity Academy; JaVon Burse, Salina Central; Logan Creek, Conway Springs; Willie Edwards, Wichita East; Kyler Ehm, Collegiate; Ethan Fritschi, Hanover; Joey Hale, Hutchinson Trinity; Tyler Harris, Andover Central; Ty Hart, McPherson; Colton Howell, Carroll; Luke Jacobs, Phillipsburg; Anthony Jackson, Andover; Darreon Jackson, Derby; RJ Jackson, Beloit; Brendan Johnson, Wichita Northwest; Hunter Knoblauch, Andale; Ryan Kuhn, Oakley; Blaik Middleton, Hutchinson; Evan Morrical, Ell-Saline; Aidan Murray, SE-Saline; Tyrik Nas-Carmickle, Junction City; Shawn Nulik, Chaparral; Seth Owen, Hoisington; Kyle Palic, Marion; Grant Raleigh, Hesston; Blake Richmeier, Holcomb; Sheldon Schmidt, La Crosse; Carlos Taylor, Wichita Heights; Caleb Tramp, Garden City; Colton Wagner, Manhattan; Dakota Wolf, Buhler.

Coach: Scott Moshier, Meade

Assistant coaches: Randall Zimmerman, Junction City; Sam Sellers, Salina South; Tom Audley, Andover Central; Glenn O’Neil, Scott City; Terry King, Ell-Saline

• EAST •

Miles Alexander, BV Northwest; Cooper Allen, Holton; Tony Barksdale, Shawnee Heights; Alec Beatty, Topeka; Colton Beebe, KC Piper; Derrick Cassell, Chetopa; Trey Dishon, Horton; Ben Ewing, Aquinas; Brandon Gonzalez, Miege; Andrew Feldkamp, Axtell; Joey Ferron, Centralia; Alex Fink, Fort Scott; Scott Frantz, Free State; Jace Freeman, Silver Lake; Scott Hattole, Lansing; Gabe Helton, Galena; Wyatt Hendrix, Topeka Seaman; Mitch Holsinger, Olathe Northwest; Thatcher Horak, Rossville; Braden Huschka, Blue Valley; Ladarrius Johnson, Coffeyville; Conner Kaifes, Mill Valley; Bo Krueger, Olpe; Sage Mahnken, Pittsburg; Derrick McGreevy, Hayden; Brett Osbern, Wellsville; Carter Pembridge, SM West; Isaiah Ross, Leavenworth; Jake Seurer, Olathe South; Tristan Speer, Troy; Dawson Swinehart, Lyndon; Taylor Watkins, Columbus; Charley White, SM East; Levi Wyrick, Caney Valley.

Coach: Harry Hester, Cherryvale

Assistant coaches: Walt Alexander, Topeka; John McCall, Lansing; Bob Campbell, Fort Scott; Brad Burkdoll, Wellsville; Chris Schmidt, Olpe.