Mac's Brown earns prestigious honor

By Steve Sell
February 08, 2015

GREENWOOD, Ind. — McPherson College junior Bailey Brown is a basketball star both on and off the court.

Brown, who is second in the KCAC in scoring, was named this week to the Capital One Academic All-District Women's Basketball Team, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America. It recognizes the nation's top student-athletes for their combined performances athletically and in the classroom. 

Brown, who scored 23 points Saturday in the Bulldogs’ 82-72 loss to Sterling, was selected to the first team in the College Division District 3, which includes NAIA and junior college institutions in Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

The 5-4 Brown plays close to 35 minutes per contest and has started each of McPherson's 26 games thus far. She is averaging 16.5 points per game and 7.0 rebounds a game. 

Going into Saturday’s game, Brown led the KCAC in free throws made and attempted, 89 and 119, and is eighth in free throw percentage, 74.8 percent. Brown will be passing the 1,000-point mark in her career before this season is over.

Vanessa Kresin of Kansas Wesleyan University and Southwestern's Jessica Hobbs were the only other KCAC players honored, Kresin on the first team and Hobbs on the second team.

The Capital One Academic All-America program, selected by the College Sports Information Directors Association, is the highest academic award given in collegiate athletics from NCAA Division I to the junior college ranks. Nominees to the Capital One CoSIDA Academic All-America program must be a starter or important reserve with at least a 3.3 GPA (on a 4.0 scale) and must have attended their current institution for at least one full academic year and have reached sophomore athletic eligibility status. Honorees to the Academic All-District First Team in their four respective districts are then considered for Academic All-America status as voted on by the National Academic All-America Committee.