Bulldog sprinters burn it up on the track

By Steve Sell
February 15, 2015
McPherson College Sports Information

MANHATTAN — Speed to burn.

McPherson College’s men’s track and field team displayed some flash on the track  Saturday during the second day of the KCAC Indoor Track and Field Championships.

The quartet of Perry Joseph, J'Moi Penn, Akim Muhammad and Josiah Oyebefun owned the top four spots in the 60 meters and the 200 meters.

 Joseph and Muhammad also competed on the second-place 4 x 400 relay unit.

Other highlights for Mac included Muhammad claiming gold in the 400, Marvin Jackson coming in third in the 60 hurdles, Dixon Cooney finishing third in both the 800 and mile run, and Chandler Dohe taking second in the high jump.

  Muhammad earned an "A" qualifier for the national meet in the 400 and set the school record as well.

The Mac men finished second.

Meanwhile, the women came in fifth. Again it was the sprints that led the way.

Jazmine Alexander won the 60 and came in second in the 400, qualifying for nationals in both events and breaking the school record in the 400.

Laura Gibson ran a new PR in the mile and took second while setting a school record.  Brooke Bush earned bronze in the shot put after her heave of 40-4.25. 

Arryana Barton came in fourth in the triple jump at 36-5.75 and took fourth in the shot put as well with a throw of 38-6.25. Her triple jump mark earned a "B" standard.

For the day, the two teams set six school records and two meet records.

"We had some individuals step it up for us in some big moments," Mac coach Cameron Magnall.  "I was very happy with the large number of records and personal bests that were achieved this weekend."

McPherson has four athletes qualified for nationals in Joseph, Muhammad, Alexander and Barton.

Complete McPherson Men's Results:

60m Dash – 1. Perry Joseph 6.94

60m Dash – 2. J'Moi Penn 7.02  PR

60m Dash – 3. Josiah Oyebefun 7.07

60m Dash – 4. Akim Muhammad 7.08  PR

200m Dash – 1. Akim Muhammad 22.42  SR

200m Dash – 2. Perry Joseph 22.58  PR

200m Dash – 3. J'Moi Penn 22.73

200m Dash – 4. Josiah Oyebefun 23.04

200m Dash – Demetres Greenwood 23.63 PR

200m Dash – Todge Cooper 24.92

400m Dash – 1. Akim Muhammad 49.42  PR  SR

400m Dash – Jawaun Stuart 52.92  PR

400m Dash – Demetres Greenwood 53.00  PR

600m Dash – Michael Janzer 1:27.64  PR

600m Dash – Miguel Luna-Sanchez 1:28.70

800m Run – 3. Dixon Cooney 1:58.70  PR  SR

1-Mile Run – 3. Dixon Cooney 4:24.80  PR

1-Mile Run – Jonathan Dominguez 5:03.24  PR

3000m Run – Kurt Katzdorn 9:31.84

3000m Run – Jordan Bost 10:19.05

60m Hurdles – 3. Marvin Jackson 8.83  PR

60m Hurdles – 5. Aaron Vaughan 8.86

4x400m Relay – 2. 3:27.03

Jawaun Stuart, Akim Muhammad

Perry Joseph, Demetres Greenwood

Distance Medley Relay – 5. 10:57.39

Christopher Newell, Michael Janzer

Miguel Luna-Sanchez, Chris Le

Shot Put – Xavier Bartee 12.75m

Shot Put – Michael Barrett 12.19m

High Jump – 2. Chandler Dohe 1.91m

Complete McPherson Women's Results:

60m Dash – 1. Jazmine Alexander 7.84  PR  "B" Standard

200m Dash – Rea Samuels 27.11

200m Dash – Neka Dias 27.78  PR

200m Dash – Cathy Lowry 27.94

200m Dash – Jasmine Benson 28.02

400m Dash – 2. Jazmine Alexander 59.51  PR  SR  "B" Standard

600m Dash – Sierra Ulrich 2:15.49

800m Run – 6. Laura Gibson 2:35.47

1000m Run – Heidi Lyne 3:58.31

1-Mile Run – 2. Laura Gibson 5:24.98  PR  SR

1-Mile Run – Lauren Wankum 6:00.62  PR

3000m Run – Savana Cross 11:59.13

3000m Run – Miranda Clark Ulrich 12:15.04

60m Hurdles – 5. Neka Dias 9.50  PR

4x400m Relay – 4:35.90

 Cathy Lowry, Deja Matlock

Rea Samuels, Neka Dias

Distance Medley Relay – 14:36.84

Heidi Lyne, Deja Matlock

Damaje Markham, Savana Cross

Shot Put – 3. Brooke Bush 12.30m

Shot Put – 4. Arryana Barton 11.74m

Shot Put – 6. Jill Johnson 10.86m

Shot Put – Ivanna Moyer 10.85m

Triple Jump – 4. Arryana Barton 11.12m

Triple Jump – Jasmine Helms 10.81m  PR

Triple Jump – Chantelle Theron 10.02m