A McPherson County building is one of ten sites being forwarded on to the National Register of Historic Places for consideration for its listings.
Swedish immigrant P.J. Lindquist commissioned construction of the building at 118 South Main in Lindsborg in 1901 to house his tailor shop and an upper-floor living space.
Although the business was short-lived, the Lindquist family owned the building for 39 years and lived in the second-floor apartment.
Other businesses, such as the Tea Cup Inn, subsequently occupied the commercial space.
The building is significant as a representative of early commercial businesses constructed by Swedish immigrants who founded the town of Lindsborg.
The building is significant as a representative of Lindsborg’s 1901 building boom and for its long contribution to the small community’s early 20th century commercial history.
Though the building has housed multiple tenants on both floors over the years, it retains a high degree of integrity, both on the interior and exterior.
The street facade is in near-original condition, clearly portraying its original design and character.
The facade is distinguished by its Italianate detailing, including the cast-iron storefront columns and ornate metal window hoods.
The 2nd floor apartment generally retains its original configuration and retains key character-defining finishes and features.
On the ground floor, one interior wall provides a vibrant stencil sample which is possibly the work of a local artist Oscar Gunnarson.
Gunnarson, who was a partner in the renown Malm Brothers Painting Company, reportedly packed and shipped stencils from this building.
Malm Brothers and Company brought recognition to Lindsborg in the early twentieth century when their stenciling process was purchased and marketed by the Acme Company of Detroit.