Big honors for CCC's Stafford

By Steve Sell
February 26, 2015

Central Christian College’s Alonzo Stafford carted off two prestigious honors when the All-MCAC basketball teams were announced today.

Stafford was named MCAC Co-Newcomer of the Year and was picked to the first team.

CCC’s Michael Gholston and Dustin Rojas were named to the honorable mention list. Rojas and teammate Chris Quincy were on the All-Scholar Team.

Waldorf College’s Jordan Nelson, who scored 37 points last Saturday against Central, was chosen Player of the Year. Steve Sheperd of Bellevue was Coach of the Year.

Rounding out the first team were Derek Daniels, Alex Santiago and Ethan Murray of College of the Ozarks, Percy Lemle and Taylor Young of Bellevue, Trey Scott and Erik Brewer of Waldorf and Randy July of Haskell.

Other honorable mention selections were Devaun Evans and Cameron Coleman of York, Alex Worthen-Harris and Thomas Hammock of Bellevue, Cameron Paschke and Pete Leonard of College of the Ozarks, Stand Lovato and Tsalidi Sequoyah of Haskell, Jaylin McBride of Central Baptist and Steven Cooks of Oklahoma Wesleyan.

Lemle joined Stafford as Co-Newcomer of the Year. CJ Ross of Oklahoma Wesleyan was Freshman of the Year and Waldorf’s Scott was Defensive Player of the Year.

• SPENCE EARNS MENTION — For Central Christian College’s Lady Tigers, Quamisha Spence earned honorable mention honors, while Raven Void, Libby Regier, Ciara Alderson, Ashlyn Garza and Savannah Fairchild all earned Scholar-Athletes, which is for players who earned a 3.25 grade point average or higher and has been attending their school for two semesters.

College of St. Mary’s DeAundra Young was picked as Player of the Year and she was joined on the first team by teammate Tiffany Anzalone, as well as Kayla Kepler, Brandy Uchtman and Hannah Wisdom of College of the Ozarks, Nichole Tate and Susan Agesan of Oklahoma Wesleyan, Jenine Coriz and Keli Warrior of Haskell and Cory Minjarez of York.

Joining Spence on the second team were Kayla Morgan and Courtney Robinson of Oklahoma Wesleyan, MacKenzie Gott of Waldorf, Tiffani Lewis and Peyton Hagen of College of St. Mary, Rachel Medina and Rachel Eitherington of Central Baptist, Tanner Merriman of College of the Ozarks, Kellie Schmitt of Waldorf and Kortney Meat of Haskell.

Agesen was Newcomer of the Year, Coriz was Defensive Player of the Year, College of the Ozarks’ Lakin Simmerman was Freshman of the Year and Haskell’s Shane Flanagan was Coach of the Year.