Eldredge, Regier make D-III first team

By Steve Sell
March 10, 2015

Two McPherson High wrestlers made the Ark Valley Chisholm Trail League Division III first team that was announced Monday night.

Austin Eldredge, the third-place finisher in the recent Class 4A State Tournament, was a first-team member along with 195-pounder Ross Regier.

Second-team Bullpups were Andrew Trowbridge at 113, Kaleb Jost at 182, Michael McKinney at 220 and Ty Goss at 285.

Cole Kretzer was honorable mention at 120.

Augusta swept the individual awards, as the Orioles’ 113-pounder Jake Goldenstein was the Wrestler of the Year and Brandon Terry was the Coach of the Year.

Augusta won the league with a 5-0 record, while McPherson and Buhler tied for second at 3-2. El Dorado and Rose Hill were both 1-4.

Here is the first team:

106 — Austin Eldredge, McPherson

113 — Jake Goldenstein, Augusta

120 — Bryce Ledford, Winfield

126 — Justin Hershberger, Buhler

132 — Josh Moore, Augusta

138 — Connor Penka, Rose Hill

145 — Reno Hughey, El Dorado

152 — Connor Spellman, Augusta

160 — Rob Winzer, Augusta

170 — Cole Thursh, Rose Hill

182 — Logan Linbloom, Buhler

195  — Ross Regier, McPherson

220 — Ian O’Laughlin, Augusta

285 — Jacobb Burnett, El Dorado