MHS cagers dominate D-III basketball honors

By Steve Sell
March 15, 2015

McPherson High’s basketball teams need to back up the truck to haul home all the AVCTL Division III honors they received today.

The Class 4A Division I state champion MHS boys dominated the postseason awards, as Kyler Kinnamon was named Player of the Year, Kurt Kinnamon was named Coach of the Year, and Drew Pyle and Payton Stephens also made the first team.

The Bullpups were 10-0 in league play and never once were played within single digits in a D-III game.

Starters Nathan Nutter and Spenser Wine headlined the honorable mention list.

Kyler Kinnamon, Pyle and Stephens were joined on the first team by Jace Williams of Buhler, Connor Hurst of Augusta and Will Adler of Winfield.

Second-team picks were Alec Hildreth of El Dorado, Noah Webster and Shawn Davis of Buhler, Dustyn McEachern of Augusta, Layke Hoffman of Winfield and Alek Santo of Rose Hill.

Joining Nutter and Wine as honorable mention picks were Taylor Woods of Winfield, Garrett Howland of El Dorado, Logan Santo of Rose Hill, Logan Weakley of Augusta and Jordan Wedel of Buhler.

The MHS girls, who tied for the league lead with Buhler at 9-1, placed two members on the first team.

Freshmen Taylor Robertson and Mandi Cooks were selected to the elite squad. Ironically, Cooks never started a game this season.

D-III Player of the Year Jessica Steffen of Buhler headlined the team and was joined by teammate Alex Keller. Rounding out the team were Winfield’s Courtney Griffiths and Rose Hill’s Anna Van Driel.

McPherson’s Ashtyn Schieferecke made the second team. Other picks were Abby Bertholf of Winfield, Kellie Burns of Buhler, Morgan Kirk of Augusta, and MacKenzie Herman and Kayna Simoneau of Rose Hill.

MHS’ Madison Hoffman and Cassidy Wedel were picked to the honorable mention team. Others chosen were Kylie Westbrooks and Brooke Eberhardt of Augusta, Morgan Rohr and Kylie Domsch of Buhler, Mikala Ruff of El Dorado, and Hannah Wingett and Madison Pollock of Winfield.

Buhler’s Jon McLean was selected Coach of the Year.