Stephens, Richardson named MVPs

By Steve Sell
March 19, 2015
Cindy Kinnamon-Contributed Photo  has named McPherson High’s Payton Stephens as its Most Valuable Player from the Class 4A Division I State Tournament that was completed last Saturday.

Stephens was the tournament’s leading scorer with 57 points and also grabbed 18 rebounds, while coming up with four steals and three assists. He had 24 points and six rebounds in the 74-60 championship game victory over Basehor-Linwood.

Teammates Kyler Kinnamon and Drew Pyle joined him on the six-man team. Also on the team were Alston Jones and Semaj Ray of Miege, and Jahron McPherson of Basehor-Linwood.

For Class 3A girls, Hesston’s Caylee Richardson was named the tourney MVP and was joined on the All-Tourney team by teammate Kelsey Unruh. Also on the team were Morgan Ediger of Cimarron, Alexis Gifford and Rachel Heiman of Silver Lake, and Emily Meyer of Sabetha.

Richardson displayed her versatility as she averaged a double-double with 12.3 points and 11.6 rebounds a game.

In Class 2A, Moundridge’s Ashley Holler made the team. She was joined by MVP Taylor Rolfs and Reagan Phalen of Central Plains, Ali Brown of Valley Falls, and Bailey Olvera and Jaylin Stapleton of Meade.