Eagle tabs Kinnamon Top 5 in Kansas

By Steve Sell
March 22, 2015

For the second straight year, McPherson High’s Kyler Kinnamon was named as one of the Top 5 players in Kansas by The Wichita Eagle.

Kinnamon was joined on the All-State All-Class first team by Dean Wade of St. John, Trey O’Neil of Scott City, and the Wichita East duo of Zach Jackson and Semajae Jones.

Kinnamon also headlined the Class 4A Division I first team. MHS’ Payton Stephens was on the second team, and Drew Pyle and Nathan Nutter made honorable mention.

MHS’ Taylor Robertson achieved a rarity as she was named to the 4A first team for girls as a freshman. Fellow freshman Mandi Cooks was honorable mention.

Hesston’s Caylee Richardson was chosen second-team All-State All-Class and made the girls’ 3A first team. Her sister, Cami, was a second-team pick and Swather teammate Kelsey Unruh was honorable mention.

Grant Raleigh was a first-team 3A pick for the boys and teammate Tyler McCartney made the second team.

Moundridge’s girls did well, with Ashley Holler making the 2A first team, and Michelle Schrag and Anna Stucky were honorable mention. The Wildcats’ Colton Frazer was honorable mention for the boys.

Four area schools had one representative each and all were honorable mention — Nick Reinert  of Smoky Valley (4A Division II), Cassidy Enns of Canton-Galva  (2A), Anna Adamyk of Elyria Christian School (1A Division II) and Abby Ropp of Inman (2A).