C-J tabs Kyler Kinnamon Top 5; Kurt Kinnamon shares top coach

By Steve Sell
March 22, 2015

McPherson High’s Kyler Kinnamon was tabbed first-team All-State All-Class today by The Topeka Capital-Journal and the Bullpups’ Kurt Kinnamon shared Coach of the Year honors with his brother Clint of St. John.

The Kinnamons both guided teams to state championships with undefeated records. St. John was 26-0, McPherson High 25-0.

Kyler Kinnamon was joined on the Top 5 by Dean Wade of St. John, Trey O’Neil of Scott City, Anthony Bonner of Lawrence and Zach Jackson of Wichita East.

Kinnamon spearheaded the 4A first team (it wasn’t divided by two divisions), with teammates Payton Stephens and Drew Pyle picked second team and honorable mention, respectively.

MHS’ Taylor Robertson made third-team 4A girls, with teammate Mandi Cooks tabbed honorable mention.

Hesston fared well.

Grant Raleigh was named second-team All-State All-Class and first-team 3A and Tyler McCartney was honorable mention. Caylee Richardson made second-team All-State All-Class and first-team 3A, while Cami Richardson was second team and Kelsey Unruh was honorable mention.

Moundridge’s Ashley Holler made Class 2A’s second team, with Canton-Galva’s Cassidy Enns on the third team. Moundridge’s Michelle Schrag was honorable mention as was Colton Frazer for the boys.