BC men golfers take title

By Steve Sell
March 25, 2015

JUNCTION CITY — Bethany College’s men’s golf team charged back to win the championship of the KCAC First Tournament contested over the past two days.

Bethany trailed Southwestern by seven shots after Monday’s first round, but wound up earning the title on Tuesday. The Swedes shot two rounds of 294, then a blistering 282 on the final day.

Jose Acevedo and Nathan Limbacher both shot tourney-bests 213 for the 54 holes, Acevedo with rounds of 71-73-69 and Limbacher overcame an early 76 with rounds of 69 and 68.

Ben Johnson shot 222 for third, tying with Southwestern’s Seth Bryan. Other Swede totals that went toward the team score were Olly Rubenstein (222), Josh Meeks (225) and Juan Pablo Sin (226).

The Swedes’ unattached entrants were Josef Loughlin (221), Scott Farrall (224), Greg Miller (225) and Matt O’Neill (225).

The Bethany women's golf team also competed at the tournament, shooting 367-351-718 for third behind Kansas Wesleyan University and Ottawa University.

 Aspen Bryant led the Swedes with rounds of 79 and 74 for a 153, just two shots behind tournament champion Kamie Rash of Kansas Wesleyan University.

Arianna Bryant (93-85-178) tied for ninth place. Lexi Pauls tied for 11th at the end of the second day after rounds of 92-88-180. Rachel Meyer had rounds of 103 and 104 for a two-round total of 207.