MHS netters win own Invite title

By Steve Sell
March 31, 2015
File-Kendall Shaw

There was no “I” in team for McPherson High’s Bullpups Monday during the McPherson Invitational Tennis Tournament.

The Bullpups did not have any finalists, but were consistent throughout the day to capture the championship in the well-balanced field.

MHS, ranked No. 3 in Class 4A, scored 49 points to outlast fifth-ranked 5A Newton, which scored 44. Other team totals were Winfield (37), Salina South (35), Great Bend (22), Derby (17), Hays (11) and MHS’ second team (3).

In singles, MHS’ Andrew Snell and Gallagher Martin were third and fourth, respectively, as all entries were in one division. Snell was 3-1 on the day and Martin was 2-2.

For the B-team, Price Kramer and Dalyn Chapman were both 1-3 for 14th and 15th, respectively.

The Bullpup doubles teams also were third and fourth, respectively. Kento Aizawa and Luke Williams (3-1) joined forces for third, finishing just ahead of teammates Kaden Stewart and Nolan Schrader (2-2).

There was one B-entry as the team of Hadley Hageman and Trey Hett took 11th with a 2-2 record.

Newton’s Max DeChamps breezed to the singles championship with an 8-0 win over Great Bend’s Grant Harris, as the top two seeds met for the title. 

Salina South’s Pierce Carey and Matt Berneking came away with the doubles championship with an 8-3 victory over Newton’s Shawn Bontrager and Adam Ford as again the top two seeds went through the bracket as expected.

The Bullpups will have little rest as they compete Thursday at Goddard.