More basketball honors announced

By Steve Sell
April 04, 2015

HUTCHINSON — Brothers Kurt and Clint Kinnamon are Co-Area Coaches of the Year by The Hutchinson News, which announced its postseason basketball honors today.

Both Kinnamons led McPherson High and St. John, respectively, to undefeated state championship seasons.

Hesston’s Matt Richardson was named Girls Coach of the Year after leading the Swathers to an undefeated state championship season.

Kyler Kinnamon made The News’ first team, along with Hesston’s Grant Raleigh. The Bullpups’ Payton Stephens made the second team, and MHS’ Drew Pyle and Nathan Nutter were tabbed honorable mention.

Hesston’s Tyler McCartney made the third team. Moundridge’s Colton Frazer made honorable mention.

On the girls’ side, Hesston’s Caylee Richardson made the second team. Third-team picks included McPherson’s Taylor Robertson, Hesston’s Cami Richardson and Moundridge’s Ashley Holler.

Moundridge’s Michelle Schrag made honorable mention.