Mac netters continue domination of KCAC

By Steve Sell
April 14, 2015
McPherson College Sports Information

HILLSBORO — McPherson College’s women’s tennis team continued its stranglehold on first place in the KCAC on Monday, breezing past Tabor.

The Bulldogs were nicked only once in an 8-1 victory to improve to 5-0 in the KCAC. The only blemish came at No. 1 singles where Tabor has the No. 28-ranked player in the nation in Jessica Emoto.

The Bulldogs host Friends on Thursday in their final home appearance.

• McPherson College 8, Tabor College 1 •


1. Jessica Emoto (TC) def. Nikki Vorhees (Mac) 6-0, 6-1

2. Brooke Vorhees (Mac) def. Becky Faber (TC) 6-2, 6-0

3. Nikki Thornburg (Mac) def. Heidi Klaassen (TC) 6-0, 6-1

4. Brittany Gourlay (Mac) def. Celeste Worthy (TC) 7-6, 6-0

5. Nadine Baquiran (Mac) def. Kiana Fujioka (TC) 6-0, 6-1

6. Claire Crossman (Mac) def. Krista Schmidt (TC) 6-3, 6-0


1. Vorhees/Vorhees (Mac) def. Emoto/Faber (TC) 8-3

2. Thornburg/Baquiran (Mac) def. Klaassen/Fujioka (TC) 8-2

3. Gourlay/Short (Mac) def. Schmidt/Shroud 9-7

 • MAC MEN 9, TABOR 0 — The Bulldog men, for the fourth time in five KCAC duals, did not lose a match.

The Bulldogs are now 5-0 in the KCAC with matches left at home Thursday against Friends and at Bethany on Saturday, which figures to decide the conference champion. The Swedes also are unbeaten and haven’t been tested.

The Bulldogs did not lose a single game in the doubles matches, winning all by 8-0 counts. Three of the singles matches were won by scores of 6-0, 6-0.

• McPherson College 9, Tabor College 0 •


1. Joan-Marc Fajula Rodriguez (Mac) def. Luis Navareete (TC) 6-2, 6-2

2. Ahmed Lahlou (Mac) def. Harry Faber (TC) 6-0, 6-0

3. Pablo Garcia (Mac) def. Jared Friesen (TC) 6-2, 6-0

4. Jaime Roman (Mac) def. Stephon Wilson 6-0, 6-0

5. Allen Darmawan (Mac) def. Jeff Pritchard (TC) 6-0, 6-0

6. Puneet Dave (Mac) def. Aram Najar (TC) 6-2, 6-0


1. Fajula Rodriguez/Lahlou (Mac) def. Navarette/Faber (TC) 8-0

2. Ball-Greene/Darmawan (Mac) def. Friesen/Wilson (TC) 8-0

3. Carrillo Perales/Carrillo Reina (Mac) def. Pritchard/Johnson (TC) 8-0