KASB Announces Leadership for Tomorrow Class of 2015-2016, including a USD 418 Board Member

By Kansas Association of School Boards
April 23, 2015

The Kansas Association of School Boards is pleased to announce its Leadership for Tomorrow Class of 2015-16.

Participants are chosen through an application process on the basis of individual leadership in public education and participation in activities that promote effective governance and raise student achievement.

“KASB’s Leadership for Tomorrow is about gaining perspective and learning from others,” said KASB Executive Director John Heim. “This year’s class includes board members, district and building-level administrators from all over Kansas, each already a leader in his or her own community. This program will give them the opportunity to experience the unique challenges and opportunities in schools all across the state, large and small, rural, suburban and urban.”

The KASB Leadership for Tomorrow class will explore a broad spectrum of issues and concerns related to public education and student achievement. The class will meet five times in various locations across the state. Presenters and facilitators will include civic leaders, government officials, educators and experts from a variety of fields. This is the eleventh year for the program at KASB.

The 2015-2016 KASB Leadership for Tomorrow includes:

    Gail Billman, Board of Education, Labette County USD 506

    Shawn Cardin, Board of Education, Central Heights USD 288

    Cheryl Cook-Keim, Superintendent of Schools, Deerfield USD 216

    Tim Cruz, Board of Education, Garden City USD 457

    Aron Dody, Superintendent of Schools, North Lyon County USD 251

    Leah Fliter, Board of Education, Manhattan USD 383

    Rod Garman, Assistant Superintendent, Topeka Seaman USD 345

    Jeff Hersh, Assistant Superintendent, Goddard Public Schools USD 265

    Ron Langston, Board of Education, Jeff Co North USD 339

    Paul Larkin, Superintendent of Schools, Liberal USD 480

    Steve Lilly, Superintendent of Schools, McLouth USD 342

    Matt Meek, Assistant Superintendent, Paola USD 368

    Stuart Moeckel, Building Principal, Victoria USD 432

    Bill Mullins, Superintendent of Schools, Marysville USD 364

    Gregg Noel, Board of Education, Abilene USD 435

    Lyn Rantz, Superintendent of Schools, Tonganoxie USD 464

    Ty Rhodes, Building Principal, Hesston USD 460

    Jeff Rollins, Board of Education, Satanta USD 507

    Larry Roth, Assistant Superintendent, Wellington USD 353

    Lacee Sell, Superintendent of Schools, Chapman USD 473

    Jayson Strickland, Assistant Superintendent, Kansas City Kansas USD 500

    Phil Wilson, Building Principal, Washington County USD 108(Superintendent of Schools Norton USD 211 as of July 1, 2015)

    Rhonda Wince, Board of Education, McPherson USD 418

    John Wyrick, Superintendent of Schools, Labette County USD 506

The Kansas Association of School Boards is a not-for-profit organization located in Topeka, Kansas. Members include governing boards for unified school districts, community colleges, area vocational-technical schools and cooperatives, interlocals and regional service centers. The Association provides legal, advocacy and leadership training in addition to offering a number of products and services to support local school districts in daily operations and management.