Mac's Willow named top KCAC baseball freshman

By Steve Sell
April 30, 2015

McPherson College’s baseball team may have finished last in the KCAC, but it was first in the voting for Freshman of the Year.

Designated hitter Evan Willow earned that honor on Wednesday when the All-KCAC selections were announced. He also was named to the KCAC honorable mention team.

The Bulldogs’ Kyle McDonald was a second-team selection at catcher.

Tabor’s Mark Standiford was chosen KCAC Coach of the Year, while Sterling’s Aaron Stubblefield was tabbed Player of the Year.

Sterling’s Jose Rendon and Tabor’s Dustin Hurlbutt shared Pitcher of the Year honors.

Bethany College’s selections were led by Jake Ross, who shared first-team catching honors.

Also for the Swedes, outfielder Steven Rodriguez and pitcher Clayton Cozzitorto were chosen to the second team, while DH Josiry Cirino was picked honorable mention.

Ross and Rodriguez were named to the Gold Glove team.