Hoffman lone Bullpup on D-III first team

By Steve Sell
May 31, 2015
Kendall Shaw

McPherson High’s girls softball team surprisingly landed only one player on the AVCTL Division III first team, according to a vote of coaches.

Madison Hoffman was named first-team pitcher.

Bullpups making the second team were first baseman Hannah Marshall, shortstop Chelsey Kerr, utility player Stevie Stockham, pitcher-outfielder Bailea Crist (two positions)  and designated player Stephanie Farney.

Hoffman was honorable mention as a third baseman and as a utility player. Also earning honorable mention were second baseman Gracy Feil and catcher Jasmine Wann.

Augusta’s Brooke Eberhart was named D-III Most Valuable Player, while Winfield’s Rhonda Tackett and Augusta’s Shane Steinkamp shared Coach of the Year honors. Steinkamp's Orioles repeated as Class 4A Division I state champions.


Pitchers — Madison Hoffman, McPherson; Megan Hays, Augusta; Peyton Wheeler, Rose Hill

Catcher — Kerry Murphy, Winfield

First Base — Brooke Eberhardt, Augusta

Second Base — Shanae Strate, Rose Hill

Shortstop — Kylie Westbrooks, Augusta

Third Base — Morgan Kirk, Augusta

Outfield — Bailey Phillips, Winfield; Carley Phillips, Augusta; Kendra Baldridge, Rose Hill; Taylor Hinnenkamp, Augusta

Designated Player — Haleigh Johnson, El Dorado

Utility — Taylor Byerley, Winfield


Winfield, 9-1 (14-7)

Augusta, 8-2 (18-4)

McPherson, 6-4 (12-10)

Rose Hill, 4-6 (9-13)

El Dorado, 2-8 (3-18)

Buhler, 1-9 (1-20)