Kaufman lone Bullpup on All-State soccer first team

By Steve Sell
June 17, 2015
Kendall Shaw

Apparently the state’s Class 4-1A girls soccer coaches weren’t all that impressed with McPherson High’s second-place finish.

Only one Bullpup, defender Breckon Kaufman, was selected to the Kansas Soccer Coaches Association first team that was announced today.

The Bullpups did garner four second-team selections — Paige Schmidt, Alayna Wallace , Heidi Myers and Aislinn Highes.

Miege’s Abbey Hair and Hayden’s Margot Dunshee shared Offensive Player of the Year honors. Defensive Player of the Year was Kirah Lohse of Hayden. Goalie of the Year was Raven Lawlor of Hayden.

MHS coach Chris Adrian termed the voting “frustrating,” as he thought the Bullpups certainly deserved more spots on the first team. Topeka Hayden, which nipped MHS 1-0 in the state title game, had five players on the first team, while third-place Miege had a whopping six on the elite unit as the two schools gobbled up 11 of the 18 first-team berths.