MHS' Gertsner named top coach; 6 Bullpups honored

By Steve Sell
June 28, 2015
Kendall Shaw

Heath Gerstner, who engineered McPherson’s High remarkable baseball turnaround, was named today as Area Coach of the Year by The Hutchinson News.

The Bullpups were 7-14 last year, but Gerstner led the team to a 17-8 record and runner-up finish in the Class 4A Division I State Tournament, as well as a share of the AVCTL Division III championship.

The Bullpups also were well represented on the All-Area team. Catcher Cody Starkel, first baseman Marcus McDaniel and outfielder Caleb Schmidt made the first team, while pitcher Micah McCulley, third baseman Casen Hoover and utility player Jacob Loecker were chosen honorable mention.

The McPherson area schools also were well represented. Class 2A state participant Inman placed outfielder Ryan Snow and second baseman Blayne Konrade on the first team, while pitcher Wyatt Regehr made the second team, and catcher Blake Druecker, pitcher Noah Tuscan and shortstop Zach Spiece made honorable mention.

Little River, ranked near the top of Class 2A all year before losing to Inman in the regional finals, placed first baseman Laramie Peters and utility player Kyler Cox on the second team. Pitcher Cordell Moore was honorable mention.

Canton-Galva pitcher Connor Farnham and catcher Tanner Klingensmith made the honorable mention team, along with Moundridge outfielder Noah Eichelberger.