Fawl, Burgan win MCC Member-Guest

By Steve Sell
July 13, 2015

McPherson’s Treg Fawl is just over a week away from competing in the Kansas Amateur Golf Tournament at Wichita Country Club.

But he’s keeping sharp in the meantime, as he combined with Derek Burgan to win the McPherson Country Club Member-Guest Tournament on Sunday.

A Modified Stableford System was used (8 points for an eagle, 4 for a birdie, 2 for a par and 1 for a bogey). Fawl went birdie-eagle on Nos. 1 and 2 and was off a running to a 44-point day, shooting a 68. Burgan was solid on Sunday with a 76 and 30 points.

They finished the two days a plus-18, including plus-10 on Sunday. 

Second place went to Kenny Malm and Matt Sandbo, while Terry Malm and Joe Cubillas were third.

There were 42 teams in the event.

Here are the other winners:

• First Flight •

1. Rick Davison-Ryne Davison. 2. Ed Bate-Brett Bate. 3. Brad Malm-Cory McKee.

• Second Flight •

1. Larry Bruce-Danny Glidewell. 2. Leland DeWild-C.J. Rodney. 3. Jason Shober-Scott Davis.

• Third Flight •

1. Greg Warren-Eddie Dumas. 2. Jim Adams-Dale Martin. 3. Zac Hoppes-Shelby Hoppes.

• Special Event Winners •

Championship and First Flight — Adam Jennings and Luke Aichele.

Second Flight and Third Flight — Larry Bruce and Danny Glidewell.