McPherson County included in federal disaster declaration

By Chris Swick
July 22, 2015

McPherson County is one of 42 that was included in a federal disaster declaration yesterday from President Barack Obama to help with the recovery of severe storms in May and June.

However, McPherson County Emergency Management Director Darren Frazier says there are still about three to four weeks before the state is finished holding meetings going over the damage reports.

“Once they do that, they'll submit their paperwork,” Fraizer said. “Depending on what the federal declaration, I think they're eligible for 85 percent and sometimes there's five percent additional that they're eligible for. It's such a large area they may get that extra five percent.”

Once it does become available, the federal money will go towards repairing damage to infrastructure and services.

Federal funding is available to the following counties: Atchison, Barton, Brown, Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Cowley, Doniphan, Edwards, Elk, Ellsworth, Franklin, Gray, Greenwood, Harper, Haskell, Hodgeman, Jackson, Jefferson, Jewell, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Meade, Miami, Morris, Nemaha, Neosho, Osage, Pottawatomie, Republic, Rice, Stevens, Sumner, Wabaunsee and Washington.