Nominating meeting Tuesday for Ninth District judgeship

By Chris Swick
July 24, 2015

Ten candidates have applied to fill the vacancy in the Ninth Judicial District created by the pending retirement of a long-time judge.

Chief Judge Richard B. Walker is set to retire August 1 after nearly 31 years on the Ninth District bench in Harvey and McPherson Counties.

“It was a great honor to be selected for this position three decades ago, and I have tried to do my best to honor the public trust placed in me,” Walker said. “I have had tremendous support from the appellate courts, my fellow judges around the state and members of the bar who have practiced here. I particularly want to thank court staff in the Ninth for their great work and commitment in very stressful times.”

A total of 10 candidates will go before the Ninth Judicial District Nominating Commission on Tuesday at 9 a.m. in the Harvey County Courthouse in Newton.

Those candidates are JoAn Lindfors, Michael Llamas, Mary McDonald, Trinity J. Muth, Gregory Nye, Gary Price, Harold Schorn, Marilyn Wilder, Joy Williams and David Yoder.

Two to three names will be selected by the commission for consideration by Governor Sam Brownback, who will make the final decision as to the appointment.

A judge must reside in the district, be at least 30 years old, be admitted to practice law in Kansas and have actively practiced for at least five years.

Tuesday's meeting will be open to the public.