Hesston's Kaiser makes CKL first team

By Steve Sell
March 14, 2019

Hesston’s Elise Kaiser was a unanimous selection to the Central Kansas League girls basketball first team as awards were released this week.

She was joined on the elite unit by Faith Paramore of Haven, Karenna Gerber and Madison McClain of Halstead, Morgan Stout, Madison Ontjes and Brylee Engelland of Nickerson, and Allison McGowan of Pratt.

Hesston’s Rylie Schilling made the second team. She was joined by Kristina Head of Lyons, Kaitlyn Rasmussen of Pratt, Sara Yutzy and Arie Roper of Haven, Ivory Muldrow of Larned and Teegan Worth of Hillsboro.

Kira Haxton and Kerington Haxton of Smoky Valley made the honorable mention team, along with Hesston’s Marisa Vogt. Others chosen were Josie Engel of Halstead, Kinsey Kleiner of Hillsboro, Kelsi Dalton and Maleigha Schmidt of Hoisington, Katelyn Sanger and Baylea Perez of Larned, Ashley Fierro of Lyons, Alex Altum and Kieryn Ontjes of Nickerson, and Dani Staats and Kierson Maydew of Pratt.

On the boys’ side, first-team picks were Hunter Jones of Nickerson, Braden Gerber of Halstead, Darian Ratzlaff and Wes Shaw of Hillsboro, Chance Sanger and Mason Perez of Larned and Mason Haxton of Hoisington.

Second-team selections included Connor McDonald and Tanner Schrag of Nickerson, Andrew O’Brien of Halstead, Wyatt Carmichael and Kaleb Dale of Haven, Drew Nicholson of Hoisington and Brock Shelton of Larned.

Smoky Valley’s quartet of Lane Schrag, Blake Heble, Cade Schneider and Cole Brumbaugh made honorable mention, along with Cason Richardson, Jackson Humphreys and Ben Bollinger of Hesston.

Others picked were Lane Pitts of Halstead, Jamar Miller of Haven, Caleb Potucek of Hillsboro, Xavier Robinson and Braxton Donavan of Hoisington, Brayden Rupp and Trent Fletcher of Larned, Trey McClure and Connor Minix of Lyons and Brett Winsor of Pratt.