Bullpup wrestlers capture league championship

By Steve Sell
February 14, 2020

BUHLER – McPherson High’s wrestling team not only won the AVCTL Division III championship on Thursday, it was a buzzsaw of a performance through the five-match league schedule.

The Bullpups completed their D-III dismantling with a 60-12 rout of arch-rival Buhler. None of the AVCTL teams gave the Bullpups a test as all the duals were similar to the one with the Crusaders.

“We finished pretty strong,” said MHS coach Doug Kretzer, whose team split the first six matches before winning out. “We had seen them at Abilene and they showed a little something. They’ll wrestle you, and wrestle hard and they’re young. In two years, I told (Buhler) coach (Mike) Juby, he’s going to have a good team if he can keep them all out, and add some seventh- and eighth-graders that might be in there. They’ll be right back there where they have been a few years ago.”

It was the Bullpups’ third league championship in their history. They have now won D-III two of the last three years after having so many years with good teams, only to be denied by Arkansas City back in the earlier days.

“We’ve got a good team,” Kretzer said. “We’ve had a lot of JV kids wrestle for us. Again tonight, we had multiple JV wrestlers out there that wrestled up and that’s good. You’re never going to get through the season healthy, so your depth is important.”

The Bullpups were aided by the return of twins Treyton and Tucker Pelnar, who have been out with injuries. Both came away with wins to get MHS off and running.

“It was important to get the two Pelnars back on the mat,” Kretzer said. “Tonight was good. They needed to get on the mat.”

MHS received falls from Treyton Pelnar at 106, Devin Frantz at 160, Jonah Clarke at 170 and Landon Frantz at 195. Winning by decision were Tucker Pelnar at 113 and Gavin Richardson at 138. Winners by forfeit were Lorenzo Cruzen at 120, Landon Crews at 145, Kourtney Craig at 182, Mason Thrash at 220 and Jonah Scott at 285.



106 – Treyton Pelnar won by a fall over Adams.

113 – Tucker Pelnar won 7-5 over Lugafet.

120 – Lorenzo Cruzen won by forfeit.

126 – Jase Anderson lost by a fall to Sherry.

132 – Landon Vogts lost 8-6 in OT to Roeder.

138 – Landon Crews won by forfeit.

145 – Gavin Richardson won 11-9 over Patton.

152 – Rhett Edmonson lost 7-3 to Elliott.

160 – Devin Frantz won by a fall over Weesner.

170 – Jonay Clarke won by a fall over Areheart.

182 – Kourtney Craig won by forfeit.

195 – Landon Frantz won by a fall over Childs.

220 – Mason Thrash won by forfeit.

285 – Jonah Scott won by forfeit.

JV Records

106 – Colton Rausch, 0-2.

120 – Brock Burgess, 2-0.

152 – Javon Clemmons, 1-0.

160 – Caden Burris, 1-0.

195 – Curtis Landrum, 1-0

285 – Conner McVicker, 1-0

285 – Bo Bacon, 0-1